Winter Memories in Highland Park

My friend and I in 1959 (Candler Ave. between Brush and Oakland)

My friend and I in 1959 (Candler Ave. between Brush and Oakland)

In spite of being in my fifties (I do hate to admit this), I still have a love for winter that I had as a child. Winter was not only Christmas, but it was also a special time of year for me.  My memories of winter are probably similar to other people who grew up in the fifties and sixties.

The memory of snow coming down excited me. The snow meant making snow forts, snowmen, and having snowball fights. Unfortunately, the snow in the playground at Midland School was wasted during recess because snowball fighting was not permitted.    I never tried to break this rule; so I never did discover what the punishment would have been.  It was one of those rules that I didn’t understand in elementary school.

Winter also meant cold weather. As a Safety Boy, my corner was at Brush and Ferris. It was the furthest post from Midland School. The winter meant cold mornings doing what I thought was a very important job. When the temperature reached ten degrees, all the Safety Boys would get free hot chocolate in the gym. This may not seem like a great perk, but at the time the hot chocolate sure tasted good.

One day, in second grade, the temperature went down to minus twelve degrees.  Mom didn’t see a problem with the cold; however, she did drive me to school that day. There were only four other students in our class. This made for a very long day for the five of us as well as our teacher, Mrs. Schlabach (sp?).

One year, we experienced a big snow storm.  I am sure that we had a couple of rare snow days. When we returned to school, several of us on our walk home took a detour through Ford Park. We were quite pleased to see that the city had dumped a lot of the excess snow by the track. These dumps made perfect snow mountains where we could play, hide and toss snowballs from our hideouts. This lasted for several days, which made for a very slow walk home.

Whenever we had snow, the city would do a great job of taking care of the snow on the streets and even in the alleys. Dad didn’t appreciate the snow being thrown upon his car, but we didn’t have a garage. There was also the small snow plow that plowed all the sidewalks. This was an expensive luxury which in my later teen years had ceased to exist.

As I became older, I also learned that winter meant work.  I soon would be recruited to shovel snow on our sidewalks.  To me, it seemed like our sidewalks never ended. Obviously, shoveling the snow was not my favorite part of winter.

Winter also meant that I would spend more time inside the house, watching more television than I should.  Of course, there was Captain Jolly at 6:00 P.M. and then there were the Hanna-Barbera cartoons at 6:30 P.M.  My favorites were Quick Draw Mcgraw, Yogi Bear, and Huckleberry Hound. I felt fortunate that there was an alternative to the 6:30 P.M. news. Living in the Detroit area meant that we had access to Channel nine out of Windsor, Canada.

Captain Jolly

Captain Jolly

Besides watching television, we would have family game time. We enjoyed playing Jeopardy, Password, and especially Scrabble.  I always enjoyed trying to make up my own words with the tiles given to me.  My favorite sentence was: “Is this a word?”  My mother was quite patient with me during these games, though my older brother was not amused.

One last thing about winter that I remember was how cold my bedroom would become. The heat from the basement barely made it up to my second floor bedroom.  After reading me a story mom would cover me up with several covers and give me a kiss goodnight.

The winter appeared to go on forever. The snow stayed on the ground for three months. However, the snow would eventually leave the ground. The temperatures would rise, and spring would arrive. The snowballs would be replaced by baseballs. The hot chocolate would be replaced by Hires Root Beer. With the warmth, we would return to the alley to play our favorite games. However, the joy of winter would come again.

 

18 thoughts on “Winter Memories in Highland Park

  1. Great memories, especially the games. You did spend some time trying to create words. Winter was fun as a kid, but I do not miss the severe winters of our childhood.

    • Yes, I took a lot of time to put down words, but don’t forget that you were four years older than me. I was at a disadvantage because of my age. Anyway, Mom was really nice to play these games with us. I will write about her on her birthday.

  2. I am glad you liked the snow–I never did. I guess that is why I now live in a warm climate. As a child I never remember having a snow day off from school. I only lived the 5 short ends of the blocks from Willard School. No one ever got a ride to school as most families had only one car if that. We walked everywhere in HP.
    Wonderful memories–glad you are writing them down. Your children will appreciate them.

    p.s. as Teacher I LOVED having snow day

    • Betty, Thanks for the comments on the snow. Yes, there were much fewer snow days because there were no school busses to take us to school. It was nice growing up because both Midland and Ford school was within walking distance. The high school was a bit of hike for me. Thanks for the advice about the book. I have posted half of the book. It does take some time to do put it on my blog.

  3. Please, what is your name, I to went to Midland, same years, same class. I lived at 228 Church St. My father was a Highland Park Cop. do you recall one of your neighbors, his name was Bob Haye, he lived in the house E of the big house in your winter memories picture. Do you recall the white trash (bobo jones) theat hung around that middle block of candlerand Church?

  4. hay Mark this Is Richard Yes Kenny was my brother and he graduated in 1973 same year as you so that is the same Kenny and we lived the next block over on Church street .

    • Yes, I do remember him well. Is he still alive? When did your family leave HP? Also, did you know Lenny? I don’t remember his last name, but I do remember that he introduced me to Strat-O-Matic Baseball. I think he lived on Church between Brush and Oakland.

      • I think you are correct. I think he was a couple of years older than me, but he showed me the Strat-O-Matic Baseball which I ordered and enjoyed hours of enjoyment with this game.

  5. No Kenny passed away in 1981 , We left HP 1970 after my dad died , Lenny Whalin he lived down the street from us on the other side of the street .I’m a year younger than you & I went to Midland & ford schools ,

Leave a Reply

